top of page

Seniors 'Retire' From High School

by Sarah G.

Some might say High School is the best time of your life, and others say it was one of the worst. Whether you agree or disagree that it was good or bad we can all see that throught it we have created friendships, formed relationships, and established long-term memories we will never forget. It’s sad to leave a place where you grew up with all your friends by your side; it's like you want to leave for better things to come but also are afraid of what is yhet to come. It feels like you're both prepared and unprepared, but then again you’ll always feel unprepared until you try new things. Some things are learned through time.

Almost all the seniors polled said that they felt prepared in one subject or aspect of life but not so much in others. Patricia Mayle wrote “I feel extremely prepared for some aspects of college, but unprepared for others... “I feel semi-prepared to graduate,” commented Luke Robinson, and “I do not feel prepared for college,” noted Lilliann Hartzell. Some say that specific classes they took really helped them to be prepared such as AP, Honors, and the personal finance classes. These college-preparatory courses assist high school students get ready for a college class room setting. Even if regular classes don’t help some student prepare for their future, the seniors are still excited to go out into the world and see what their lives have in store.

Leaving the people and the environment you have experienced together for most of you lives is definitely scary and unpredictable; it can also be beautiful and surprising. Our seniors will be missed, especially those who have made a difference in the lives of others. It's difficult to imagine how its going to feel to leave RCB and never come back as student ever again having grown from scared little freshmen to adults. I can only imagine the many, many tears at graduation that will be shed, for all those “good ol' days” that will become only mere memories of the past.


Seniors were asked, “Where do you see yourself in 2027?"


Alexander Hardy- “In five years, I see myself making video games for a big company. I also see myself helping others on their own projects.”

James Simon- “In five years, I think the goal is to be graduated from college and have a job, but I can also see myself in a different job working for my parents.”


Aurora Blake- “I see myself on an Air Force base as a wife. I’m doing online college. I’m going into business. I plan on starting my own photography or flower shop. It will be hard with moving around, but I have family who say they will help out.”

Tashara Pearcy- “In five years, I see myself beginning my career as a flight attendant and seeing/visiting many places.”


Emma Anderson- “In five years, I will be in Quantico, VA working for NCIS or still in WV building my career in the FBI. I'll have gotten my BA degree in Criminology at WVU.”


Edith Leon- “In five years, I see myself finishing my studies then pursing a career that I enjoy. If college is not for me, I will apply in a Realtor program and get a Realtor license and to be Real Estate Agent. However, I know that with passion and drive, I will be able to accomplish anything.”

Maelee Henderson- “In five years, I see myself heading into my final year of law school either at WVU School of Law or Howard University.”


Minah Moine- “In five years, I will hopefully be starting my first year at WVU school of medicine, and honestly, I would love to still be in a relationship with my present boyfriend.”


Lilliann Hartzell- “In five years, I shall hopefully be enrolled in a graduate school for veterinary medicine.”


Kayley Davis- “In five years, I see myself graduated from WVU as an elementary school teacher.”


Annalise Gentilozzi- “In five years, I see myself in a graduate program.”

Sophia Freedmen- “In five years, I will be either in medical school or interning.”

Anna Gallo- “I see myself being a pediatric/psychiatric nurse, hopefully far away from Clarksburg.”


Lynndesy Lambert- “ In five years i see myself in veterinary school, or PA school.”


Audrey Symons- “I will be in Colorado.”


Patricia Mayle- “Still in college…”


Zachary McGary- “I see myself working in the hospital field saving to take a trip and start investing in ways to make money trying to save myself financially.”


Timothy Nay- “In five years, I see myself in some average job, that barely sustains myself. I don’t feel to highly about my future but I don’t think there is much i can do about at this point.”


Luke Robinson- “5 years from now I see myself pursuing my desire career at West Virginia University.”


Good or bad, high school has made memories for all of us and its an amazing thing to also share those memories with other people. Our wish for all the graduating seniors is that they go out in this world and be happy no matter what happens. Life has ups and downs but they make for a full life. Remaining strong and happy may be the toughest thing they will ever do but will be rewarding. We wish the Class of '22 all the best life has to offer.


Recent Posts

See All

Where Are You Going?

by Annalise G. As graduation is approaching and students are ready to embark on the next stages of their lives, one must decide on where they will end up in the upcoming years. As future plans differ

Can you PROMise to keep a secret?

`by Annalise G. Just kidding...There is no secret and prom is definitely on the way! In less than two weeks, the juniors and seniors will be dressing up in their finest attire and taking on the dance

bottom of page